clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cal football team awards highlighted by Patrick Laird, Devante Downs

Go Bears!

NCAA Football: Arizona at California Stan Szeto-USA TODAY Sports

Patrick Laird and Devante Downs were named the 2017 Cal Football Bear Backers Offensive and Defensive MVPs to highlight a series of awards announced Sunday by head coach Justin Wilcox. Laird won a team-high three awards as he also earned the Berkeley Breakfast Club Award as Cal's Outstanding Player in the Big Game and the Stub Allison Award given for his work in strength and conditioning. Downs also picked up the Ken Cotton Award as the team's Most Courageous Player.

Laird and Downs were Cal's multiple-award winners while Ashtyn Davis was named the team's Most Valuable Player on special teams for the second consecutive season.

A total of 16 student-athletes were recognized with 19 honors. Below is list of award winners on each honoree.

Hunter Abel Dink Artal Award (Defensive Scout Team Player of the Year)

Matt Anderson Frank Schlessinger Coaches Award (Outstanding Athletic and Academic Success)

Luc Bequette – Bob Tessier Award (Most Improved Lineman)

Camryn Bynum – Bob Simmons Award (Most Valuable Freshman)

Jake Curhan – Andy Smith Award (Most Big "C" Time)

Ashtyn Davis – J. Scott Duncan Award (Most Valuable Special Teams Player)

Raymond Davison III Ted Agu Award (Commitment To Community Service)

Devante Downs – Bear Backers MVP Award (Most Valuable Defensive Player), Ken Cotton Award (Most Courageous Player)

Patrick Laird Bear Backers MVP Award (Most Valuable Offensive Player), Berkeley Breakfast Club Award (Outstanding Player in the Big Game), Stub Allison Award (Outstanding Strength and Conditioning)

James Looney – Co-Brick Muller Award (Most Valuable Lineman)

Patrick Mekari – Co-Brick Muller Award (Most Valuable Lineman)

Tony Mekari – Ken Harvey Award (Academic Commitment and Improvement)

Malik McMorris – Joe Roth Award (Courage, Attitude and Sportsmanship)

Collin Moore Dink Artal Award (Special Teams Scout Team Player of the Year)

Chas Peterson Dink Artal Award (Offensive Scout Team Player of the Year)

Michael Saffell – Clint Evans Award (Most Intense Freshman Competitor)