clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kuony Deng, Camryn Bynum on preseason Bednarik Award Watch List

The Golden Bears are well represented on the prestigious list

California v Mississippi Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images

The 2020 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List saw two of your California Golden Bears named to the list, as DB Camryn Bynum and LB Kuony Deng each represented the university.

The prestigious award is given out annually to the best overall defensive player in the country and is voted upon by members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA football head coaches, sportswriters and sportscasters across the nation.

Cal sports two while Stanford posted just one. USC is the other California school to be represented as they tied the defending National Champion LSU Tigers for most players represented at three. UCLA was nowhere to be found.

Cal has never had a player win the Bednarik Award as Chase Young won it a season ago and Josh Allen won it the previous year, each were seasons that Evan Weaver was considered at least a finalist.

The Maxwell Football Club also is set to announce the watch list members for the Maxwell Award — the annual award given to top player in the country.

Bynum should also find his way to at least a mention for the Jim Thorpe Award this summer as well while Deng is a relative unknown to most of the east coast voters. His recognition on the Bednarik Award Watch List shows that the Maxwell Football Club did their homework and will only help Deng get national notice.