clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No Cal First-Teamers on Preseason All-Pac-12 Team

Athlon Sports doesn’t see Cal as a team with top-tier talent

Redbox Bowl - California v Illinois Photo by Thearon W. Henderson/Getty Images

The fine folks over at Athlon Sports aren’t the biggest believers of top-tier talent on the California Golden Bears for the 2020 college football season, even if they are a believer in the Bears overall.

Cal ranked tied for third in terms of most selections on their All-Pac-12 team ahead of this season but failed to place any member on the First-Team. No member of the Cal team found their way on offense, defense or special teams, and actually, outside of Christopher Brown Jr., no Cal Bear found his way to the first or second team on offense.

The defense is littered with talent across both the second and third teams as Kuony Deng, Cam Bynum and Elijah Hicks each were represented on the second team. Third team representatives were Brett johnson, Luc Bequette and Cameron Goode.

You have to scroll a bit to see Chase Garbers mentioned as he lands on the third-team offense with offensive linemen Michael Saffell and Jake Curhan. Wide receiver Nikko Remigio made the third team as a punt returner and the fourth team as a receiver.

Cal tied with Stanford for third-most selections at 12, behind Oregon and USC, each who had 13 total picks on the four teams.

The full teams can be found here, and below:

First-Team Offense
QB Kedon Slovis, USC
RB CJ Verdell, Oregon
RB Jermar Jefferson, Oregon State
AP Max Borghi, Washington State
WR Amon-Ra St. Brown, USC
WR Tyler Vaughns, USC
TE Brant Kuithe, Utah
C Drew Dalman, Stanford
OL Penei Sewell, Oregon
OL Abraham Lucas, Washington State
OL Alijah Vera-Tucker, USC
OL Jaxson Kirkland, Washington

First-Team Defense
DL Levi Onwuzurike, Washington
DL Jay Tufele, USC
DL Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon
DL Drake Jackson, USC
LB Nate Landman, Colorado
LB Hamilcar Rashed Jr., Oregon State
LB Joe Tryon, Washington
CB Thomas Graham, Oregon
CB Elijah Molden, Washington
S Jevon Holland, Oregon
S Talanoa Hufanga, USC

First-Team Specialists
K Blake Mazza, Washington State
P Michael Turk, Arizona State
KR Connor Wedington, Stanford
PR Britain Covey, Utah

Second-Team Offense
QB Jayden Daniels, Arizona State
RB Christopher Brown Jr., California
RB Richard Newton, Washington
AP Britain Covey, Utah
WR Frank Darby, Arizona State
WR Michael Wilson, Stanford
TE Cade Otton, Washington
C Orlando Umana, Utah
OL Walker Little, Stanford
OL William Sherman, Colorado
OL Dohnovan West, Arizona State
OL Nick Ford, Utah

Second-Team Defense
DL Mustafa Johnson, Colorado
DL Jermayne Lole, Arizona State
DL Mika Tafua, Utah
DL Jordon Scott, Oregon
LB Kuony Deng, California
LB Jahad Woods, Washington State
LB Ryan Bowman, Washington
CB Paulson Adebo, Stanford
CB Cam Bynum, California
S Brady Breeze, Oregon
S Elijah Hicks, California

Second-Team Specialists
K Peyton Henry, Washington
P Ben Griffiths, USC
KR Mykael Wright, Oregon
PR Jevon Holland, Oregon

Third-Team Offense
QB Chase Garbers, California
RB Austin Jones, Stanford
RB Alex Fontenot, Colorado
AP Demetric Felton, UCLA
WR Johnny Johnson, Oregon
WR Tay Martin, Washington State
TE Brady Russell, Colorado
C Michael Saffell, California
OL Jake Curhan, California
OL Brandon Kipper, Oregon State
OL Jake Burton, UCLA
OL Liam Ryan, Washington State

Third-Team Defense
DL Brett Johnson, California
DL Osa Odighizuwa, UCLA
DL Thomas Booker, Stanford
DL Luc Bequette, California
LB Colin Schooler, Arizona
LB Cameron Goode, California
LB Devin Lloyd, Utah
CB Deommodore Lenoir, Oregon
CB Jack Jones, Arizona State
S Aashari Crosswell, Arizona State
S Skyler Thomas, Washington State

Third-Team Specialists
K Jet Toner, Stanford
P Oscar Draguicevich, Washington State
KR Travell Harris, Washington State
PR Nikko Remigio, California

Fourth-Team Offense
QB Davis Mills, Stanford
RB Devin Brumfield, Utah
RB Stephen Carr, USC
WR Nikko Remigio, California
WR Jamarye Joiner, Arizona
WR Kyle Philips, UCLA
WR Trevon Bradford, Oregon State
WR K.D. Nixon, Colorado
OL Josh McCauley, Arizona
OL Steven Jones, Oregon
OL Donovan Laie, Arizona
OL Luke Wattenberg, Washington
OL Foster Sarell, Stanford

Fourth-Team Defense
DL Marlon Tuipulotu, USC
DL D.J. Davidson, Arizona State
DL Will Rodgers, Washington State
LB Mase Funa, Oregon
LB Omar Speights, Oregon State
LB Avery Roberts, Oregon State
LB Merlin Robertson, Arizona State
LB Palaie Gaoteote, USC
CB Trent McDuffie, Washington
CB Olaijah Griffin, USC
CB Lorenzo Burns, Arizona
S Chase Lucas, Arizona State

Fourth-Team Specialists
K Chase McGrath, USC
P Ryan Sanborn, Stanford
KR Demetric Felton, UCLA
PR Michael Wilson, Stanford