clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Kuony Deng selected to Lott IMPACT Trophy Watch List

Deng joins 41 others on the award watch list, given to the top defensive player who exemplifies excellence on and off the field

California v Mississippi Photo by Jonathan Bachman/Getty Images

We’ve reached the point of the preseason (yes I’m using preseason for sports that haven’t officially been announced yet) where the prestigious and major college football awards are going to be starting to debut their watch lists.

This all began when the Lott IMPACT Trophy gave us their 42 individuals on their preseason watch list, highlighted by Cal Bears LB Kuony Deng.

Replacing Evan Weaver will certainly be a task in and of itself but Deng is likely to fill some of those shoes and more in the 2020 season. He’s a massive man and he’ll certainly grab some of Weaver’s 100+ tackles that have left the program with him.

Deng is also a rock solid student as the Lott IMPACT trophy stands for Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Teaching both on and then off the field.

The list of players on the full watch list are:

Paulson Adebo, Stanford, CB
Carlos Basham Jr., Wake Forest, DL
Terrel Bernard, Baylor, LB
Dicaprio Bootle, Nebraska, CB-S
K.J. Britt, Auburn, LB
Andre Cisco, Syracuse, S
Kuony Deng, Cal, LB
Victor Dimukeje, Duke, DE
Paddy Fisher, Northwestern, LB
Justin Foster, Clemson, DE
Chauncey Golston, Iowa, DE-DT
Richie Grant, UCF, DB
Talanoa Hufanga, USC, S
Patrick Jones II, Pitt, DL
Kekaula Kaniho, Boise State, DB
George Karlaftis, Purdue, DE
Caleb Kelly, Oklahoma, LB
Quentin Lake, UCLA, DB
Nate Landman, Colorado, LB
Richard Lecounte, Georgia, S
Demonte Meeks, Air Force, LB
Dimitri Moore, Vanderbilt, LB
Dylan Moses, Alabama, LB
Israel Mukuamu, South Carolina, CB
Amen Ogbongbemiga, Oklahoma State, LB
Levi Onwuzurike, Washington, DE
Joseph Ossai, Texas, LB
Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame, Rover
Micah Parsons, Penn State, LB
Kwity Paye, Michigan, DE
Hamilcar Rashed Jr., LB, Oregon State
Gregory Rousseau, Miami, DE
Jack Sanborn, Wisconsin, LB
Antjuan Simmons, Michigan State, LB
Jacoby Stevens, LSU, S
Darius Stills, West Virginia, DE
Derek Stingley Jr., LSU, CB
Tre Swilling, Georgia Tech, DB
Kayvon Thibodeaux, Oregon, LB
Shaun Wade, Ohio State, CB
Garret Wallow, TCU, LB-S
Marvin Wilson, Florida State, DL

Cal has had one Lott IMPACT Trophy winner since the award’s inception in 2004 as Dante Hughes won it in 2006.