clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

24 Hours of Cal Athletics classics on the Pac-12 Networks on July 9th, 2018

It’s a Cal summer takeover of the Pac-12 Networks programming for a full day!

Grambling v California Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images

It’s a 24 hour long Bear-athon on the Pac-12 Networks on Monday, July 9th, 2018 as classic games and Inside the Lair features will be the only programmings on. Watch the classic moments, mostly from this past school year, of various California Golden Bears programs. Yes, a large majority of these involves the Cal Bears upsetting those Stanford Cardinal.

Below is the full schedule, starting at 6 AM PT, with my comments for each game/match in italics.

6 a.m. PT / 7 a.m. MT 4/26/18 - Baseball: Going up against the eventual Pac-12 Champion Cardinal, the Golden Bears’ Andrew Vaughn homers as Cal gets a 4-3 win on The Farm.

Watch Cal’s brand new Golden Spikes Award winner helping the Golden Bears to a big win at Stanford.

8 a.m. PT / 9 a.m. MT Inside the Lair #1

9 a.m. PT / 10 a.m. MT 2/17/18 - Women’s Basketball: Asha Thomas scores 25 points as Cal downs Stanford at Haas Pavilion for the first time since 2009.

Another classic from this most recent school year. This was a big win for the Golden Bears that likely was the reason why the team just made the NCAA postseason.

10:30 a.m. PT / 11:30 a.m. MT 2/1/14 - Men’s Basketball: Justin Cobbs hits a jumper in the final second to stun No. 1 Arizona 60-58 at Haas Pavilion.

I remember watching this game on my phone with fellow Cal friends while we were out celebrating someone’s birthday. The ending is arguably the best moment in my Cal Athletics fandom dating back to 2000.

12 p.m. PT / 1 p.m. MT 3/4/18 - Women’s Water Polo: The Golden Bears stun the No. 1 Cardinal 8-7 in triple overtime, snapping Stanford’s 14-match win streak.

This win launched the Golden Bears to the No.1 ranking for only the 2nd time in program history. This was my choice of the 2nd best story of the recent winter/spring Cal seasons.

1:30 p.m. PT / 2:30 p.m. MT 11/12/16 - Men’s Water Polo: The No. 3 Golden Bears get a hard-fought 11-10 win over rival Stanford in the Big Splash.

Any of the 2017 postseason match would have been great here but the Pac-12 Networks do not own that right. Instead, we get another exciting game that features the recently graduated Luca Cupido - who was recently honored as the top collegiate men’s water polo player with the Cutino award.

3 p.m. PT / 4 p.m. MT Inside the Lair #2

4 p.m. PT / 5 p.m. MT 9/18/15 - Field Hockey: The Golden Bears get a 2-1 victory over their Bay Area foes, netting an overtime golden goal to get their first win over Stanford since 2011.

A little bit of a surprising choice for me since last year’s home win on October 15th, 2017 over Stanford was also broadcasted by the Pac-12 Networks. Then again, this one was a more thrilling win with the Golden Goal.

5:30 p.m. PT / 6:30 p.m. MT 1/1/92 - Football: Finishing second in the Pac-10, Cal traveled to Orlando, Florida and put away ACC champion Clemson early in a decisive 37-13 victory.

Confession time, I have not yet watched the 1992 Citrus Bowl.

7:30 p.m. PT / 8:30 p.m. MT Inside the Lair #1

8:30 p.m. PT / 9:30 p.m. MT 2/25/18 - Women’s Gymnastics: Cal stuns perennial power Utah with a 197.500-197.450 win in Berkeley, the Golden Bears’ first regular-season dual victory over the Utes.

This was a very fun one from this past year. Cal switched up the lineup at the last minute to give superstar Jamaican Calympian Toni-Ann Williams the chance to win this meet and she delivered! This was my choice for the 3rd best story of the recent Cal winter/spring season.

10:30 p.m. PT / 11:30 p.m. MT 10/25/13 - Women’s Volleyball: The Golden Bears outlast the Ducks in a defensive battle, with each team tallying over 100 digs in a five-set thriller.

Somewhat sadly, 2013 was the last season that the once mighty Cal Volleyball program made the NCAA postseason.

12 a.m. PT / 1 a.m. MT 4/22/17 - Men’s Tennis: Cal blanks the Cardinal 4-0 on Senior Day on the last regular-season match of 2017.

College tennis is weird and that TV coverage often does not do the excitement justice since they often focus on just one court. Nonetheless, this was a great moment for a Cal squad that was loaded with seniors (which also turns into the relatively struggle of this past season).

2 a.m. PT / 3 a.m. MT 10/13/17 - Football: The Bears cruise to a 37-3 win over Washington State, including nine sacks and seven forced turnovers.

Of course, this crazy Pac-12 after dark classic from last year is shown at a really really late time.

4 a.m. PT / 5 a.m. MT 8/20/17 - Women’s Soccer: Cal comes back with a 2-1 win over No. 24 Santa Clara in Berkeley.

It wasn’t quite a Golden Goal situation, but the Golden Bears scored a late one (89th minute penalty kick) to upset the visiting Broncos.


Let us know in the comments below if you’re going to partake in this Bearathon. Also what other games should the Pac-12 Networks show in future Cal Athletics takeover?

GO BEARS!