clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stefan McClure makes Weurffel Trophy watch list, Allstate AFCA Good Works Team nominee

McClure has been nominated for two community service awards. The Weurffel Trophy watch list and the All State AFCA Good Works Team.

Cary Edmondson-USA TODAY Sports

Stefan McClure has been given the great honor of being a nominee for two outstanding community service rewards.

The Weurffel Trophy is presented to players for their work in the community, as well as their academic and athletic achievements. The trophy is named after Danny Weurffel a Heisman winning quarterback for Florida. McClure is nominated for this award by exemplifying a good citizen. His work in the community with many different organizations such as the Alameda Juvenile Hall, Playworks, Sage Mentorship Program, Children's Hospital Oakland, and various elementary and middle schools. He also helps out the High Street Boys and Girls Club and The S.Q.U.I.R.E.S. Program at San Quentin Prison.

McClure was also on the Chancellor's Task Force on Academics and Athletics. He would work with the school's Director of Athletics to eliminate academic problems regarding athletes and make a plan to raise graduation rates for student athletes.

Previous winners of the Weurffel Trophy include Tim Tebow, Sam Acho, and Matt Barkley.

The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team is made up of 11 players who are from the Football Bowl Subdivision. The criteria for winning is simply being involved in a community or a charity and maintaining good grades. Athletic ability is not judged.

There are two previous Cal winners, Kicker Tom Schneider and Linebacker Nick Forbes. Notable winners include Daunte Culpepper, Trent Dilfer, and the Manning brothers.

The upcoming senior safety has had a productive Cal career although he has battled with injuries. He redshirted his sophomore year due to injury. McClure has a career total of 104 tackles, two fumble recoveries and 2 interceptions. In his junior season he had a career high of 50 tackles and intercepted Heisman winning quarterback Marcus Mariota.

The Weurffel Trophy Semifinalists are announced November 3, and the Finalists on November 23 while the winner is announced December 8.