clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

WATCH: Missy Franklin win Honda Award for best female collegiate athlete

Go Missy and Go Bears!

Evan Pike-USA TODAY Sports

More on the award from the Daily Cal.

Franklin won five titles at this year’s NCAA Championships. Three of these titles were individual crowns, making her the first Bear to achieve this since Cal alumna Natalie Coughlin, who accomplished this in 2002 and 2003. At the meet, Franklin set the American record for the 200-yard freestyle with a time of 1:39.10. She also came first in the 200-yard individual medley and the 200-yard backstroke, with times of 1:52.11 and 1:47.91, respectively.

The 2015 Capital One Academic All-American of the year also dominated at the Pac-12 Championship meet. She won the Pac-12 Swimmer of the Year award after winning the same individual titles she won at the NCAA meet, along with anchoring the 800-yard free relay team for an American record time of 6:50.18.

These wins helped Franklin become the second Honda Cup winner in Cal history after Mary T. Meagher, a swimmer for the Bears, who won in 1987.