clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cal Men's Swimming and Diving repeats as 2014 Pac-12 Champions

No.2 Cal Bears overcame Stanfurd's big edge from diving to claim the Pac-12 Swimming and Diving title for the second consecutive year. STROKE ON YOU BEARS!

Cal Men's Swimming and Diving Facebook

Just like the No.1 Cal women, No.2 Cal men's swimming and diving are now Pac-12 Champions. Water is Bear Territory!

To watch the Cal's win, you have to wait until March 10 at 7:30 PM PT for the Pac-12 Networks tape delayed coverage. Calympian Nathan Adrian will serve as the swimming color commentator.

Final Standings:

1. Univ of California, Berkeley 786
2. Stanford University 661
3. University of Southern Calif 621
4. Arizona, Universiy of 596.5
5. Utah, University of 306
6. Arizona State University 287
7. U C, Santa Barbara 178.5
8. Cal Poly 157

Also like the Cal women, the men suffered a relay DQ, although this one came at the very end when the Bears have already secured the team title. The top seed 400 free relay team did miss out on the chance to be Pac-12 champions, however.

Overall, the Bears actually did not claim that many Pac-12 titles.

Pac-12 Titles won by Cal Bears

  • Sophomore Josh Prenot won 400 IM with a time of 3:42.40
  • Freshman Ryan Murphy won 100 Back with a time of 45.59
  • Freshman Ryan Murphy also won 200 Back with a time of 1:39.21
  • Tyler Messerschmidt, Ryan Murphy, Tony Cox, and Seth Stubblefield won the 200 Free Relay with a total time of 1:16.67

Yep, Bears only won 4 Pac-12 titles, but plenty of Golden Bears made it to the podium with a tons of 2nd and 3rd place finishes. More importantly, plenty of Cal Bears posted qualifying time to swim in the NCAA's.

2nd Place finishes

  • 200 medley relay (Murphy, Katis, Cox, Messerschmidt)
  • 800 free relay (Williams, Stubblefield, Gutierrez, Hamilton)
  • Josh Prenot - 200 IM
  • Seth Stubblefield - 50 Free
  • Adam Hinshaw - 400 IM
  • Tony Cox - 100 Fly
  • Chuck Katis - 100 Breast
  • 400 medley relay (Murphy, Katis, Tarczynski, Messerschmidt)
  • Jacob Pebley - 200 Back
  • Josh Prenot - 200 Breast
  • Will Hamilton - 200 Fly

3rd Place finishes

  • Will Hamilton - 200 IM
  • Marcin Tarczynski - 100 Fly
  • Trent Williams - 200 Free
  • Jacob Pebley - 100 Back
  • Seth Stubblefield - 100 Free
  • Long Gutierrez - 200 Fly
  • Adam Hinshaw - 1650 Free

The ultimate goal of the season, the NCAA Championships will take place at Austin, Texas from March 27-29.