clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Cal Men's Swimming & Diving, 2011-12 NCAA National Champions

via <a href="">Pac-12</a>
via Pac-12

For the second straight year, Cal owns the pool.

The California Golden Bears women have won national championships two years in a row, and the men joined them with their second straight title. Cal wasn't expected to win it this season after finishing second to the Furd in the Pac-12 championships.

Cal finished with 535.5 points, Texas 491, Furd 426.5, Arizona 396. Your list of winners after the jump. Go Bears! (Info from here, here and here)

Thomas Shields won the 100 yard butterfly (44.76 seconds, school record), 100 yard backstroke (44.86 seconds, school record).

Marcin Tarczynski captured the 200 IM with a school record time of 1:41.97.

Will Hamilton won the 200 yard butterfly, with Shields finishing second.

The 200 yard free relay team - freshman Tyler Messerschmidt, sophomore Shayne Fleming, freshman Fabio Gimondi and freshman Seth Stubblefield - won the meet's opening event with a time of 1:16.58.

The 400 medley relay (3:03.24) also captured first behind the swims of senior Mathias Gydesen, senior Nolan Koon, Shields and freshman Messerschmidt, and it was the third year in a row Cal has finished first in the event.

Cal finished in a tie for second in the 400 yard free relay.

Trevor Hoyt finished second in the 200 yard breaststroke.

2nd place in the 200 yard medley relay (1:23.53, senior Mathias Gydesen, senior Martin Liivamagi, Shields, Messerschmidt)

2nd place in the 800 yard free relay (school record 6:15.70, Shields, sophomore Sam Metz, freshman Will Hamilton, junior Ben Hinshaw)

Liivamagi finished in third place in the 100 yard breast with a time of 51.93 seconds.