clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Golden Nuggets: Cal Football Holds Annual Awards Banquet

The football team held its end of year banquet and handed out several awards, including offensive MVP for Sofele and defensive MVP for Steve Williams.

Ezra Shaw

The team held its end-of-year banquet on Sunday (which must have felt odd without a head coach or half the assistant coaches). Here's a look at the awards handed out.

Ken Harvey Award (Player showing special academic commitment and improvement)
Brendan Bigelow and Mike Manuel

Joe Roth Award (Player best exemplifying courage, attitude and sportsmanship)
Eric Stevens

Dink Artal Award (Player best exemplifying Cal spirit and attitude)
Offense - Tyler Rigsbee
Defense - Brennan Scarlett

Stub Allison Award (Most Inspirational Player)
Dominic Galas

Ken Cotton Award (Most Courageous Player)
Offense - Ross Bostock
Defense - Robert Mullins

Frank Schlessinger Coaches Award (Player who demonstrates outstanding athletic ability, academic success and community service)
Tyré Ellison

Andy Smith Award (Player with most Big "C" time)
Josh Hill

Everett Merriman Award (Player demonstrating a commitment to community service)
Kameron Krebs

Student Trainer of the Year
Michael Chung

Student Manager of the Year
Antonio Machado

Senior Lifter of the Year
Eric Stevens

Freshman Lifter of the Year
Michael Barton

Scout Team Player of the Year
Offense - Darren Ervin
Defense - Michael Barton
Special Teams - Hardy Nickerson

J. Scott Duncan Award (Most Valuable Special Teams Player)
Daniel Lasco

Berkeley Breakfast Club Award (Outstanding Player in the Big Game)
Offense - Chris Harper
Defense - Marc Anthony

Most Improved Player
Nick Forbes

Most Valuable Back
Offense - C.J. Anderson
Defense - Steve Williams

Bob Tessier Award (Most Improved Lineman)
Offense - Matt Summers-Gavin
Defense - Kendrick Payne

Brick Muller Award (Most Valuable Lineman)
Offense - Brian Schwenke
Defense - Aaron Tipoti

Cort Majors Team Captain Awards
Offense - Keenan Allen and Brian Schwenke
Defense - Josh Hill and Robert Mullins

Bear Backers MVP Awards (voted on by team)
Offense - Isi Sofele
Defense - Steve Williams

Maynard should have earned something for being the most beaten up QB of the Tedford era. A trophy shaped like crutches, a medal whose ribbon is made from gauze, a crystal bowl of ice packs--something of that nature.