clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Golden Nuggets: Larry Scott Brings the Pac-12 the Most Lucrative Television Deal in College Conference History

Larry Scott--great commissioner or greatest commissioner?  Last summer's attempt at putting together the Pac-16 showed us how lofty Scott's goals could be.  Although the Pac-16 dwindled to the Pac-12 (for now), Larry Scott has struck gold with an equally ambitious television rights deal.  

The Pac-12 has agreed to a 12-year television contract with ESPN and Fox that reportedly will more than quadruple its media rights fees and be the most valuable for any conference in college sports. 

The contract, which will begin with the 2012-13 season, was initially reported at more than $225 million per year -- or $2.7 billion over the life of the deal, according to the Sports Business Daily and The Associated Press. The New York Times later Tuesday reported the deal at $3 billion over 12 years, more than quadrupling what the two companies have been paying. 

The Pac-10's old TV contracts paid about $45 million annually from ABC/ESPN and Fox. So that roughly $4.5 million per team -- recall, again, that there wasn't equal revenue sharing -- will become roughly $20.83 million per team starting in 2012 (Utah gets 50 percent in 2012, 75 percent in 2013 and a full share in 2014). 

  • Games will be shown on Fox, ABC, FX, Fox Sports Net, ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPNU.
  • The Pac-12 football championship game is part of the contract and will be shown alternately on Fox and ABC.
  • The conference will be the sole owner of its own network, unlike the Big Ten. Fox owns 49 percent of the Big Ten Network.

After the jump Tedford gives his impressions of how spring ball went,  men's gymnastics is reinstated, and the women's water polo team brings home the school's first MPSF title.


Most Valuable Player -- Jorge Gutierrez
Pete Newell Coach's Award -- Markhuri Sanders-Frison, Harper Kamp
Defensive Player of the Year -- Jorge Gutierrez
Highest Field Goal Percentage -- Markhuri Sanders-Frison (58.9 percent)
Darrall Imhoff Award (leading rebounder per game) -- Markhuri
Sanders-Frison (7.4 rpg)
Jason Kidd Award (leading assists per game) -- Jorge Gutierrez (4.4 apg)
Best Free Throw Percentage -- Harper Kamp (81.6 percent)