clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Cal Rugby National Semifinal Open Thread: vs. Utah

New, 107 comments

Time: 5 PM PT/8 PM ET
Location: Glendale, Colorado
Online stream: ESPN3
TV: ESPNU, but tape-delayed until 7:30 PM PT/10:30 PM ET
Live scoring: Cal Rugby Scoring Twitter

128 years of Cal Rugby (via richgpearson)

It's that time of year again where you get to watch the best team sport Cal athletics has to offer. Cal rugby is reinstated, is undefeated, and is in great shape to try and return to the national championship game for what would be their thousandth time

The road will probably be a little more difficult this year, because it's very likely they'll be basically playing two road games. The semifinal will be contested in Colorado; the final will be contested in Utah, and the Bears have to play the Utes of Utah in the semifinal and (probably) BYU in the final (if they beat Arkansas State, a matchup which will be streamed right after Cal-Utah on ESPN3) to earn the crowd. Additionally, even though Cal beat Utah 34-0, the Utes do have experience beating the Bears in Rugby sevens, so they shouldn't be counted out (especially with such a dynamic threat like Thretton Palamo to deal with).

GO BEARS!