clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Golden Nuggets: Randle and PC Continue to Make History

Cal was well represented in the awards given out by the Pac-10 today.   Randle won Pac-10 Player of the Year, Randle and PC were chosen to be on the Pac-10 all-conference first team,  Theo and Boykin made the second team, and Jorge filled a spot on the five-man all-conference defensive team.

By earning spots on the first team for the second year in a row, Randle and PC became part of a select group of Cal players twice chosen for first team all-conference honors.

Jerome Randle and Patrick Christopher are just the 10th and 11th Cal players to earn multiple first-team all-conference honors since the league went to a single division in 1955-56.

By making the all-Pac-10 first team for the second straight year, they join the select company of ex-Cal stars Darrall Imhoff (1959 & ‘60), Bill McClintock (1960 & ‘61),  Russ Critchfield (1967 & ‘68), Kevin Johnson (1986 & ‘87), Brian Hendrick (1990, ‘91 & ‘92), Lamond Murray (1993 & ‘94), Jason Kidd (1993 & ‘94), Sean Lampley (2000 and ‘01) and Leon Powe (2004 & ‘06).

Hendrick is the Bears’ only three-time all-conference selection.

After the jump JO looks at O and D-lines, baseball upsets no. 17 Arkansas in the final game of their three-game series and softball goes a perfect 5-0 in an otherwise tough weekend for Cal sports.

Cal Football
  • Best was awarded the CFPA 2009 Elite Running Back Trophy during Saturday's Cal-Stanford women's game.
  • JO previews the D-line.  The biggest question is who will replace Tyson Alualu.  Owusu showed promise in his first game, but was quiet after that; Guyton performed well as a backup, but isn't a lock for the starting role; and the 6'6", 300lb RS freshman DeAndre Coleman should be in the mix.
  • JO previews the O-line.  The competition for guard spots should be intense and will lay the foundation for the rest of the hierarchy of O-line positions.
Cal Sports Weekend Recap