Cal Rugby looks to capture their 1st Collegiate Rugby Championship 7s: Pool Play Open Thread

June 2 Cal Schedule: vs. Navy (11:17 a.m. ET / 8:17 a.m. PT), vs. Notre Dame (5:30 p.m. ET / 2:30 p.m. PT), vs. Army (7:03 p.m. ET / 4:03 p.m. PT)

How to follow: NBC Sports Network/NBC will broadcast Saturday's action on tape delay: NBC Sports Network 11 a.m-1:30 p.m. PT, NBC TV 1:30-3 p.m. PT

@CalVarsityRugby. for score updates

Camps_rugby_clark_289_mp_medium

The Bearathon™ continues. Despite its storied history, Cal Rugby has yet to capture the Collegiate Rugby Championship 7 (CRC 7), back in Philadelphia for the second consecutive year, in the first two years of this tournament's existence. By not participating in the USA Rugby D1A National Championship (allowing previous runner up BYU to win it this year), Cal Rugby has refocused its aim and training schedule to focus more on the 7s format (the same format of Rugby that will take place in the 2016 Olympics in Rio). The Bears will also play more of the 7s format in the fall.

Saturday will see Cal play 3 games against the rest of its pool. The top 2 teams from all 4 pools will advance to the single elimination, knock-out round on Sunday. In the past two years, the Bears have not drop a game in the Pool round.

GO BEARS!

How is the 7's format different? 7 players per side (rather than 11) and two halves of 7 minute each.

From the CRC 7 website

101_medium

via www.usasevenscrc.com

For more general rugby knowledge (lesson 4 above) and for people who learn better through watching videos: here is a possibly NSFW explanation.

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join California Golden Blogs

You must be a member of California Golden Blogs to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at California Golden Blogs. You should read them.

Join California Golden Blogs

You must be a member of California Golden Blogs to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at California Golden Blogs. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_9341_tracker