Figured I would I would post this here, given the mutual hatred Cal fans should have for both teams.
The game had several bad call and non-calls. But at the end of regulation, I think the refs got the call seriously wrong.
The refs initially ruled that time had expired because Robert Woods didn't get out of bounds in time. On review, they ruled that Woods went down, in bounds, with one second left. BUT, they ruled that the one second would have run off before USC could have run another play even though USC had timeouts remaining.
Here are my thoughts: This is seems to me to be absolutely non-sensical for the following reasons (1) When they restore time, it has to be a dead ball with that amount of time on the clock. Challenges create dead balls whether or not there is time left on the clock. (2) Refs shouldn't be able to theorize on what would have occurred had the gotten the call right in the first place. A challenge creates an alternative timeline from the point of the challenge (1 second), not a slightly altered version of what occurred following the incorrect call. USC should have had the chance to kick a field goal.
My questions: (1) Is there even a rule at all for this situation. If there is no rule, why are we comfortable with the refs winging it here? (2) If there is a rule, did the refs get the rule right?
The opinions expressed in a FanPost are, in every way, reflective of the opinions of every California Golden Blogs Marshawnthusiast. Moreover, they are reflective of every employee of SBNation, including Tyler "Blez" Bleszinski.